A friend of mine challenged me to make a map at the smallest default size. He as well is making his own map and we have 1 week to flesh out all the problems with the map. Most of the triggers are working but I require a custom spell for hero selection, 4 per race actually.
Here is the main problem.
First I attempted to use Destroyer Form ability to just simply transform the unit into a hero, these right now are basic hero types. This is what happens.
[1] [2] [3] [4]
Spell slot 1 - Paladin - 2 Blood Mage - 3 Arcmage - 4 Mountain King.
When I select 2, it would use ability #1, 3, would also use 1, as well as 4.
Now I used thunderclap and made triggers, but then I would end up with 2 heros from the triggers. After removing all triggers and running just a simple display text over units head of the ability being cast I found that the ability being cast is all of them.
Is there a way to set a unique id for each spell, or is there something I am doing wrong?
The map I am working on currently is a small quest objective of fending off waves of monsters something like gauntlet.
Once the mechanics of the small map are down, I plan on adding quite a few features to it, and maximize the space I have.
Frustrating Problem
Moderator: Cheaters
-
- Senior Member
- Posts: 127
- Joined: March 27th, 2010, 2:32 pm
Re: Frustrating Problem
You need to either:
1. Base each ability on different original skill (i.e. to have two thunderclaps, you can use war stomp or other similar skill)
2. Make the ability actions in trigger, and base it on Channel ability.
1. Base each ability on different original skill (i.e. to have two thunderclaps, you can use war stomp or other similar skill)
2. Make the ability actions in trigger, and base it on Channel ability.
-
- Super Moderator
- Posts: 3197
- Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
- Location: JEW LAND
- Been thanked: 1 time
Re: Frustrating Problem
I don't think I'm getting you.
You want to make a skill, that when casted on unit A it does X and when casted on unit B it does Y?
For example. A unit called Paladin casts spell MAGICA on unit-type Warlock - Result: The unit Warlock dies.
Other Side: Same unit (Paladin) Casts the same spell (MAGICA) on unit-type Magician - Result: The unit is transformed into a chicken.
If that is the case. I think that all you got to do is a dumby empty skill (with a picture and tool and everything, just has no functions. Lets say has 0% to make 0% critical hit or 0% dodge) And use booleans for when the casting unit is X use A actions, if unit is Y use B actions.
Rather, target unit is X do A action, else if unit Y use B actions....
Not confusing?
You want to make a skill, that when casted on unit A it does X and when casted on unit B it does Y?
For example. A unit called Paladin casts spell MAGICA on unit-type Warlock - Result: The unit Warlock dies.
Other Side: Same unit (Paladin) Casts the same spell (MAGICA) on unit-type Magician - Result: The unit is transformed into a chicken.
If that is the case. I think that all you got to do is a dumby empty skill (with a picture and tool and everything, just has no functions. Lets say has 0% to make 0% critical hit or 0% dodge) And use booleans for when the casting unit is X use A actions, if unit is Y use B actions.
Rather, target unit is X do A action, else if unit Y use B actions....
Not confusing?
-
- Grammar King
- Posts: 2117
- Joined: June 22nd, 2008, 10:11 pm
- Title: Worst human for 4eva
- Location: Mostly USEast
Re: Frustrating Problem
If skills have the same base, it'll use all of them at once when you use one of the spells. As per Nuuby said, you could do that, or you could base them off of different spells. There are many transformation spells that you could use:
Demon Hunter's Metamorphasis
Goblin's Unstable Concoction
Tinker's Mecha Goblin Form thing/Mountain King's Avatar
Crypt Fiend's Burrow
etc...
Demon Hunter's Metamorphasis
Goblin's Unstable Concoction
Tinker's Mecha Goblin Form thing/Mountain King's Avatar
Crypt Fiend's Burrow
etc...
(20:53:52) Bartimaeus: Thank you, Jen.
(20:53:56) Bartimaeus: Truly, you are wise.
Learn how to extract and read RAW Codes here!(23:44:12) Bartimaeus: I was in pubic school until middle school...
Need help? Click here and ask your question!
-
- Newcomer
- Posts: 2
- Joined: April 17th, 2011, 4:17 am
Re: Frustrating Problem
Ty for the input - everybody -UndeadxAssassin wrote:If skills have the same base, it'll use all of them at once when you use one of the spells. As per Nuuby said, you could do that, or you could base them off of different spells. There are many transformation spells that you could use:
Demon Hunter's Metamorphasis
Goblin's Unstable Concoction
Tinker's Mecha Goblin Form thing/Mountain King's Avatar
Crypt Fiend's Burrow
etc...
Yeah I am going to just use different abilities.