Frustrating Problem

General talk about editing, cheating, and deprotecting maps.

Moderator: Cheaters

terasat
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: April 17th, 2011, 4:17 am

Frustrating Problem

Post by terasat »

A friend of mine challenged me to make a map at the smallest default size. He as well is making his own map and we have 1 week to flesh out all the problems with the map. Most of the triggers are working but I require a custom spell for hero selection, 4 per race actually.

Here is the main problem.

First I attempted to use Destroyer Form ability to just simply transform the unit into a hero, these right now are basic hero types. This is what happens.

[1] [2] [3] [4]

Spell slot 1 - Paladin - 2 Blood Mage - 3 Arcmage - 4 Mountain King.

When I select 2, it would use ability #1, 3, would also use 1, as well as 4.

Now I used thunderclap and made triggers, but then I would end up with 2 heros from the triggers. After removing all triggers and running just a simple display text over units head of the ability being cast I found that the ability being cast is all of them.

Is there a way to set a unique id for each spell, or is there something I am doing wrong?

The map I am working on currently is a small quest objective of fending off waves of monsters something like gauntlet.
Once the mechanics of the small map are down, I plan on adding quite a few features to it, and maximize the space I have.
YellowAfterlife
Senior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: March 27th, 2010, 2:32 pm

Re: Frustrating Problem

Post by YellowAfterlife »

You need to either:
1. Base each ability on different original skill (i.e. to have two thunderclaps, you can use war stomp or other similar skill)
2. Make the ability actions in trigger, and base it on Channel ability.
User avatar
haxorico
Super Moderator
Posts: 3195
Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Location: JEW LAND
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Frustrating Problem

Post by haxorico »

I don't think I'm getting you.
You want to make a skill, that when casted on unit A it does X and when casted on unit B it does Y?
For example. A unit called Paladin casts spell MAGICA on unit-type Warlock - Result: The unit Warlock dies.
Other Side: Same unit (Paladin) Casts the same spell (MAGICA) on unit-type Magician - Result: The unit is transformed into a chicken.

If that is the case. I think that all you got to do is a dumby empty skill (with a picture and tool and everything, just has no functions. Lets say has 0% to make 0% critical hit or 0% dodge) And use booleans for when the casting unit is X use A actions, if unit is Y use B actions.
Rather, target unit is X do A action, else if unit Y use B actions....

Not confusing? :D
Image
Spoiler:
(02:24:09)

Code: Select all

ChatBot: FatherSpace logs into the Chat.
(02:24:28) Lanaya: Gtfo ken.
(02:24:33) ChatBot: FatherSpace logs out of the Chat.
(02:24:40) Lanaya: Thought so. bitch.
(02:24:44) ChatBot: FatherSpace logs into the Chat.
(02:24:48) FatherSpace: Can I come back yet?
(02:24:51) Lanaya: What'd i say earlier.
(02:24:51) Lanaya: No.
(02:24:58) FatherSpace: Let's try this...
(02:25:01) ChatBot: Lanaya has been logged out (Kicked).

Code: Select all


(14:33:51) 2Pac: Do you know what'S so funny?
(14:34:01) Lanaya: No, please show me.
(14:34:07) 2Pac: This.
(14:34:09) ChatBot: Lanaya has been logged out (Kicked).
(14:34:10) 2Pac: 

Code: Select all

(14:35:59) haxorico: No one will belive me if I say "I got this song from 2pac on MSN" lolz ^^
(14:36:02) Lanaya: lolz.
(14:36:16) 2Pac: I AIN'T DEAD FFS.
(14:36:26) 2Pac: I'm a living legend, y'now.
(14:37:17) haxorico: why is 2Pac a legend?
(14:37:28) Lanaya: He's the worse rapper evar.

Code: Select all

(15:42:51) Lanaya: can i suck , . . .

Code: Select all

(13:55:21) ChatBot: 2Pac rolls 1d100 and gets 1.
(13:55:21) ChatBot: haxorico rolls 1d2 and gets 2.
(13:55:27) haxorico: owned?

Code: Select all

GeorgeMots: xplain what happens in SP. Why cant you save?
dast.-:i need play with 2 players

Code: Select all

(21:53:08) (673237): plzplzplz, im sorry about before.
(21:53:26) FatherSpace: I'm sorry you were born.
(21:53:31) ChatBot: (673237) has been logged out (Kicked).

Code: Select all

(10:08:02) Bartimaeus: you do know run I youtube channel for my favorite music, right?
User avatar
UndeadxAssassin
Grammar King
Posts: 2116
Joined: June 22nd, 2008, 10:11 pm
Title: Worst human for 4eva
Location: Mostly USEast

Re: Frustrating Problem

Post by UndeadxAssassin »

If skills have the same base, it'll use all of them at once when you use one of the spells. As per Nuuby said, you could do that, or you could base them off of different spells. There are many transformation spells that you could use:
Demon Hunter's Metamorphasis
Goblin's Unstable Concoction
Tinker's Mecha Goblin Form thing/Mountain King's Avatar
Crypt Fiend's Burrow
etc...
(20:53:52) Bartimaeus: Thank you, Jen.
(20:53:56) Bartimaeus: Truly, you are wise.
(23:44:12) Bartimaeus: I was in pubic school until middle school...
Learn how to extract and read RAW Codes here!

Need help? Click here and ask your question!
terasat
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: April 17th, 2011, 4:17 am

Re: Frustrating Problem

Post by terasat »

UndeadxAssassin wrote:If skills have the same base, it'll use all of them at once when you use one of the spells. As per Nuuby said, you could do that, or you could base them off of different spells. There are many transformation spells that you could use:
Demon Hunter's Metamorphasis
Goblin's Unstable Concoction
Tinker's Mecha Goblin Form thing/Mountain King's Avatar
Crypt Fiend's Burrow
etc...
Ty for the input - everybody -

Yeah I am going to just use different abilities.