help with: Abilities and Upgrades

For fulfilled maps that most likely don't work on the latest patch (1.24 or later).

Moderator: Cheaters

Panda-Assassin
Senior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: July 4th, 2009, 12:00 am
Title: Pandaren-Assassin

help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Panda-Assassin »

Would anyone know how to turn an ability into an upgrade,
For example: Cleaving Attack is an ability and I want to make that an upgrade or research for a unit. I know it's possible, I just don't know how to do it.

Thank You in advance. :D
"A unit of time is as precious as a unit of gold, but you cannot don't click me back one unit of time with one unit of gold."

Thanks for all the help Syre!
User avatar
Syre
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: November 17th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Syre »

Tested and works. Anyways, Cleave is a Boolean array variable.

Code: Select all

Untitled Trigger 012
    Events
        Unit - A unit Finishes research
    Conditions
    Actions
        If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            If - Conditions
                (Owner of (Triggering unit)) Equal to Player 1 (Red)
                (Researched tech-type) Equal to Cleave 
            Then - Actions
                Set Cleave[1] = True
            Else - Actions

Code: Select all

Untitled Trigger 013
    Events
        Time - Every 1.00 seconds of game time
    Conditions
    Actions
        If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            If - Conditions
                Cleave[1] Equal to True
            Then - Actions
                Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units owned by Player 1 (Red) matching ((Unit-type of (Matching unit)) Equal to Footman)) and do (Unit - Add Cleaving Attack (Neutral Hostile) to (Picked unit))
            Else - Actions
Edit : Thank god im getting a new comp tomorrow..lol i hate this crashing..Anyways back ontopic, you will need to create a new upgrade through the object editor, and base it off anything. Change the data and stuff to 0 so it doesnt add any benefits, and use that.
Image
Panda-Assassin
Senior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: July 4th, 2009, 12:00 am
Title: Pandaren-Assassin

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Panda-Assassin »

Thank you :D is there some kinda rep system here??
Edit: I kinda understand what the first trigger does, but what does the second do??
Last edited by Panda-Assassin on July 13th, 2009, 5:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
"A unit of time is as precious as a unit of gold, but you cannot don't click me back one unit of time with one unit of gold."

Thanks for all the help Syre!
User avatar
Syre
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: November 17th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Syre »

Haha, nope. Just open thanks ;P
Image
Panda-Assassin
Senior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: July 4th, 2009, 12:00 am
Title: Pandaren-Assassin

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Panda-Assassin »

I can't find cleave when it gets up to the tech-type bit.
"A unit of time is as precious as a unit of gold, but you cannot don't click me back one unit of time with one unit of gold."

Thanks for all the help Syre!
User avatar
Syre
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: November 17th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Syre »

Lol, like i said, make a new blank upgrade. Base it off anything, i used Iron forged swords. Change the data to nothing, so you dont add any other benefits, and make sure its only one level. Then, change the icon to something you will recognize. It should show up in the tech-type thing at the end after all the other upgrades.
Image
Panda-Assassin
Senior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: July 4th, 2009, 12:00 am
Title: Pandaren-Assassin

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Panda-Assassin »

Oh ok thanks. Can't believe I didn't get that. :shock:
"A unit of time is as precious as a unit of gold, but you cannot don't click me back one unit of time with one unit of gold."

Thanks for all the help Syre!
User avatar
Syre
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: November 17th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Syre »

Panda-Assassin wrote:Edit: I kinda understand what the first trigger does, but what does the second do??
Alright, im guessing your going to make the upgrade go for a number of units. Sure, selecting all and giving them the ability would be easy, but what about new units that are spawned later? They will start without the upgrade. The second trigger makes it so that if the upgrade is got, then every second, any new unit will get the ability.
Image
Panda-Assassin
Senior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: July 4th, 2009, 12:00 am
Title: Pandaren-Assassin

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Panda-Assassin »

oh sexy, thanks :D
"A unit of time is as precious as a unit of gold, but you cannot don't click me back one unit of time with one unit of gold."

Thanks for all the help Syre!
User avatar
Syre
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: November 17th, 2008, 3:49 pm

Re: help with: Abilities and Upgrades

Post by Syre »

Lol np, and im guessing that you know that for each player, you change the array number..So for Red, its Cleave[1], then for Blue its Cleave[2]. If you dont have different numbers for each color, the upgrades will not work, and instead go to the wrong person.
Image