How to add -setname

For fulfilled maps that most likely don't work on the latest patch (1.24 or later).

Moderator: Cheaters

User avatar
EmPIr312
Newcomer
Posts: 17
Joined: October 16th, 2007, 9:25 pm
Title: Learning New Stuff
Location: Your Couch

How to add -setname

Post by EmPIr312 »

Whats the trigger for -setname ?
Image
User avatar
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen
Posts: 4430
Joined: November 19th, 2007, 5:05 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How to add -setname

Post by Bartimaeus »

EmPIr312 wrote:Whats the trigger for -setname ?
You mean a trigger to set your name to whatever? I think you mean this -

setname
Events
Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing -setname as A substring (and all the other players, (player 2-12))
Conditions (Whatever you want, ie, player is in player group)
Actions
Player - Set name of (Triggering player) to (Substring((Entered chat string), 10, 30))
Black-Hole
Forum Fanatic
Posts: 315
Joined: October 16th, 2007, 7:32 pm

Re: How to add -setname

Post by Black-Hole »

Bartimaeus wrote:
EmPIr312 wrote:Whats the trigger for -setname ?
You mean a trigger to set your name to whatever? I think you mean this -

setname
Events
Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing -setname as A substring (and all the other players, (player 2-12))
Conditions (Whatever you want, ie, player is in player group)
Actions
Player - Set name of (Triggering player) to (Substring((Entered chat string), 10, 30))
Thats a bad trigger.

Use this trigger its alot better it lets the players have a name aslong as they want.

Code: Select all

SetPlayerName
 Events:
 Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing -setname as A substring
 Conditions:
 (Substring((Entered chat string), 1, 8)) Equal to setname
 Actions:
 Player - Set name of (Triggering player) to (Substring((Entered chat string), 9, (Length of (Entered chat string))))
User avatar
Xantan
Honorary wc3edit.net Traitor
Posts: 2507
Joined: February 1st, 2007, 4:11 pm
Location: NEVADA

Re: How to add -setname

Post by Xantan »

I think yours is bad as well, but maybe your actions are better, sure.
Black-Hole
Forum Fanatic
Posts: 315
Joined: October 16th, 2007, 7:32 pm

Re: How to add -setname

Post by Black-Hole »

What trigger would be good?
User avatar
Xantan
Honorary wc3edit.net Traitor
Posts: 2507
Joined: February 1st, 2007, 4:11 pm
Location: NEVADA

Re: How to add -setname

Post by Xantan »

yours is fine, besides the fact that your condition should make it not work... unless 0 is the dash...

and the layout is GUI. of course jass is better. =/
User avatar
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen
Posts: 4430
Joined: November 19th, 2007, 5:05 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How to add -setname

Post by Bartimaeus »

Xantan wrote:yours is fine, besides the fact that your condition should make it not work... unless 0 is the dash...

and the layout is GUI. of course jass is better. =/
Good thing this is in the GUI section. Plus, I didn't want it to be as long as possible, that's annoying as frick to have someone with a name going across the entire screen. I myself have a max of 15 characters in my set name triggers.