Duel System Help Needed

For fulfilled maps that most likely don't work on the latest patch (1.24 or later).

Moderator: Cheaters

Arabidnun
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm
Title: Gui Expert
Location: *Unknown*

Duel System Help Needed

Post by Arabidnun »

My Problem is:

1)Randomly Choose a hero from players 1-5
2)Randomly choose a hero from players 6-10

3)Choose the hero from 1-5, and 6-10 and move to specific spots

the rest i can basically get myself, its the problem of randomly choosing the hero from the sides and moving it to the duel...

Can anyone help me?
Last edited by Arabidnun on December 17th, 2007, 11:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen
Posts: 4430
Joined: November 19th, 2007, 5:05 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Bartimaeus »

Arabidnun wrote:ok, I have made a dialog box that tallys votes up w/ a 10sec timer at the end and when its done it goes 2 3 seperate triggers each with a different duel in them. The problem is i dont know how to set it up....can anyone help me with gui?

The 3 systems

1) 1 v 1 duel (randomly choose 1 opponent from each side and put them in a seperate arena to fight)
2) 2 v2 duel, same thing as before
3) Free for all, everyone from each side goes into the duel and fights


Can anyone give me some direction on to how to make this duel system please

I have already paused the units, created a dialog vote box with a timer, tallyed the votes, then closed the dialog box and announced what duel it will be running, then i have the trigger run the duel trigger but theres nothing in it yet, can anyone help me fill it out?
Yep. Tomorrow.
(Edit) It appears my dad doesn't have work tomorrow, therefore, I can do this tonight.
Right, so what don't you have filled out? Like, how do you get the heroes there, and how to pick them randomly?
(Edit) Okay, since you aren't going to be on again tonight, we'll do it tomorrow anyways...
What made you switch to this idea? It's not going to be any simpler than the other method >.>
Also, show me the triggers you already made and put the blanks in the parts where you don't have anything so I can fill it in.
Arabidnun
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm
Title: Gui Expert
Location: *Unknown*

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Arabidnun »

The Voting system lets me run a variable trigger that sets the trigger to whatever i choose at the givin instance. So i chose if dialog button vote 1 is greather than 2 and greather than 3, then goto trigger One vs One duel. So thats what i have accomplished.

When the voting ends this is where they triggers can lead to....

1) One vs One Duel
Event- VoteTimer1 expires(variable)
Condition - none
Action- Game Chat- Display to all players chat (One vs One Duel Has Been Chosen!)
- hide last countdown timer
-Create timer var(ArenaTimer) with name Arena Timer
-Start Timer var(ArenaTimer) that expires in 60 seconds
-Show Timer var(ArenaTimer) to All Players

2) This is also set up for 2v2 Duel and Free For All, but the chat display is just different...I dont know how to create the duel after the giving trigger. so i would put in the duel sequence before the show timer to let the duel be chosen first....


3) what i want to be accomplished in this order i can think of, but just cant seem to put it in code....
1)Randomly choose one heros from each side(two for 2v2 duel + all for FFA) and put them in dueling arena
2)Each hero chosen has life+mana 100%+ invunlerable
3)Unpause all heros in giving region( probably dueling arena region i can create around the whole arena and just put in unpause all units after a wait period of about 5 seconds code like..
-Game chat display to all players Text: 5....
-wait 1 second
-Game chat display to all players Text: 4....
-wait 1 second
-Game chat display to all players Text: 3....
-wait 1 second
-Game chat display to all players Text: 2....
-wait 1 second
-Game chat display to all players Text: 1....
-wait 1 second
-Game chat display to all players Text: FIGHT!
-wait 1 second
Then make heros unpause in givin region then all heros vulnerable in givin region...

Now, this is where i get stuck, how can i create a sequence of code that after one side looses( or run out of time ) then, g2 trigger for countdown for duel timer and set everything back to the original game....

Thanks 4 the help, right now i am at school and cant give much detail but later when i get home around 3 i can be full time attention, if my freind doesnt play guild wars all day...
Arabidnun
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm
Title: Gui Expert
Location: *Unknown*

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Arabidnun »

condition - dying unit is in region

Anyone give me a step by step instruction to get to here, i cant find it for some reason in conditions...
User avatar
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen
Posts: 4430
Joined: November 19th, 2007, 5:05 am
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Bartimaeus »

Arabidnun wrote:condition - dying unit is in region

Anyone give me a step by step instruction to get to here, i cant find it for some reason in conditions...
Right. Here. Let me open world editor.
I believe we'll start with the regions, because we need them first to do anything, this is so to prevent people from blinking and bugging the system.
Create a region around the whole MAP. Name it something like Arena or something. Now for 1v1, you want to create two regions on each side. Now name them 1v1DuelTeam1 and 1v1DuelTeam2, or something like that.
For 2v2, create four more regions, two parallel to each other, and another two parallel to each other on each side. Name them 2v2DuelTeam11 and 2v2DuelTeam12, the same with the other team, except 21 and 22. For free for all, I assume you want 6 on each side, therefore make six more on each side, twelve more in all, parallel to each again. Name them 6v6DuelTeam1(1-6), and 6v6DuelTeam2(1-6), one for every number.

Now that you've got the regions, let's get on with the variables.
Create three boolean variables, initially false, name them something like bDuel1v1, bDuel2v2, and bDuel6v6.
Create 12 unit variables, and make them empty or no unit, I can't remember which, and name them each Player1Hero, Player2Hero, Player3Hero, Player4Hero, and all the way down to 12.
Since you want it to be random, you don't have to make about 800 variables since it's much easier to make, but a lot longer and takes much more time.

When you pause the game, and after you pick a mode, depending on what the mode is, do Set Variable bDuel1v1, bDuel2v2, or bDuel6v6. Now that you have that set, let's get on to moving the heroes.

Well, first before we get on with that, what kind of picking system do you have? A tavern, or wisp circle-of-power style, as in you move your wisp to a circle of power to pick a hero?

You need all this done before you can get started with the dying part.

(Edit) Oh btw, when VoteTimer1 expires, you want to hide VoteTimer1, not hide last created timer.
Arabidnun
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm
Title: Gui Expert
Location: *Unknown*

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Arabidnun »

The Dueling System is a one that expires 4 minutes withing the start of the game then it pauses the game and pulls up a dialog box with 3 types of duels, 1v1 2v2 and 5v5....So i wanna know how can i randomly choose the heros to be in the duels?
Arabidnun
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm
Title: Gui Expert
Location: *Unknown*

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Arabidnun »

What i desperatly need help on is trying to do these actions....

I have playesr 1-5 in group RedTeam, and 6-10 in BlueTeam...

I need to do these things...

1) choose a random person from RedTeam & Blue Team and send them 2 arena....

I just cant do that! choose 1 random person from the groups....Thats what i desperatly need


Oh yah, and after that unpause all units withing giving region(arena)

Then after death send units back to giving region if their not dead...
User avatar
Xantan
Honorary wc3edit.net Traitor
Posts: 2507
Joined: February 1st, 2007, 4:11 pm
Location: NEVADA

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Xantan »

ctrl+B in trigger editor

make an integer

and do the following or something like it:

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/6685 ... c2fir9.jpg
Arabidnun
Forum Staff
Posts: 506
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 1:38 pm
Title: Gui Expert
Location: *Unknown*

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Arabidnun »

Anyone know how to do...

Region- unpause?
User avatar
Xantan
Honorary wc3edit.net Traitor
Posts: 2507
Joined: February 1st, 2007, 4:11 pm
Location: NEVADA

Re: Duel System Help Needed

Post by Xantan »

unit --> pause?