wc3edit.net

United Warcraft 3 map hacking!
It is currently August 26th, 2019, 4:36 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 29th, 2014, 12:54 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
Well, after a re-installation and moving back stuff some stuff got screwed with moving the user folder so I made a new user and moved that the exact same way and it is working.. Besides the fact it takes a lot longer to load (running on SSD) than before I formated... Some dumb stuff going on... =\

Anyway, I still have the problem, and I think Ill go to the shop either today or tomorrow.
I was going to buy another R9 280X to run on CrossFire but now the 980 has come out, I guess AMD will release something as well so a significant price drop might be comming. Not sure if to wait with this or not.

I ran the same log as before (using MSI AfterBurner) and played Hitman Absolution... Log is attached, but I don't think it will matter much...
FPS was steady all the way. either 60 or more.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 29th, 2014, 5:38 pm 
Offline
Shopping Maul USA Creator
User avatar

Joined: January 18th, 2007, 11:07 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Calgary Canada
Title: 301 IQ
This time your GPU is maxed out the whole time.

https://www.sendspace.com/file/iyj3p6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 30th, 2014, 4:20 am 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
So... Does it mean anything?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 30th, 2014, 11:06 am 
Offline
Shopping Maul USA Creator
User avatar

Joined: January 18th, 2007, 11:07 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Calgary Canada
Title: 301 IQ
I'm no expert on this matter. If you are taking your computer to a tech, it might be helpful to show him the logs/graphs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 30th, 2014, 6:11 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
I gave my card back to the shop. For now I got the same card but not the same manufacture (sapphire card was taking 3 slots) so now i have Asus's card. Direct CU 2 - I will update this thread with results

Edit: Well after over 2 hours of the same stuff. I can happily say that my screens did NOT freeze. So all this time it was a GPU problem.
Thank you guys for the help. This post has been so SUPER long :D gratz!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: October 9th, 2014, 12:39 am 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
Well... I guess we are not done yet are we?
I got the card back from the shop and the tech guy over there said he ran a stress test for 2 hours on the GPU and it was fine, nothing wrong here. and the gave it back to me, I think he also cleaned it from dust from examining the GPU.
Well now, scratching my head about what could be the problem, I went back to my PC and installed the GPU in a crossfire configuration with the working 280x. At this point was starting to benchmark some games to see how good the performance is and it turns out my UPS(I think?) isn't strong enough to delive the PSU the power needed. My PSU is a silver rated 850 from sea sonic and the UPS is "Advice 850PRV". So I plugged that out and connected my PC straight to the wall a bit sad. Any one know how to check the power of the UPS I need?
Well anyway, back to the GPU problem at hand.
After benchmarking and tweaking with teh settings (also both cards are set to the same clock speeds - 1070MHz clock and 1600 MHz Memory) I thought it was not 100% what I expected but I could see a change and everything I play is running on 60FPS so I thought it was good enough.
So then I started playing a relatively "light game". DotA 2 while still monitoring the GPUs using MSI AfterBurner - with the FPS maxed to 120 (it was 120 solid with only 1 GPU as well) and in no time, the PC crashed.
I checked the logs and... well both GPUs were at around the 50 degrees. I never had a crash at that point. So I don't think it is the card shutting itself off from the heat. I am just clue less to what could have caused it...
As always I attached the log itself. Is it possible the power is the PSU not giving enough power? or something along these lines?
I thought a silver 850W would do it for this kind of set up. My GPUs in total take 3x8pin connectors and a single 6pin to power them all (the card that causes the crash has 2x8pin connectors). If it isn't enough, what should I upgrade to?

Sorry for the really long post, I am trying to give as much information as possible.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: October 9th, 2014, 1:44 pm 
Offline
Forum Drunk
User avatar

Joined: January 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm
Posts: 2886
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Title: Proud to be a Kraut!
Crossfire, meh :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: October 9th, 2014, 7:59 pm 
Offline
Shopping Maul USA Creator
User avatar

Joined: January 18th, 2007, 11:07 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Calgary Canada
Title: 301 IQ
I would have thought the tech had a good idea what the problem is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: October 9th, 2014, 8:36 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
Well I only gave him the card, and he says the card is fine. So it may NOT be the card per say... But a problem with the GPU and another component. Either the PSU or motherboard.
It crashed really fast when I had crossfire so I wonder what could have caused that... Not enough power? Bad connectors from the PSU? (this card takes 2x8pin and the other 1x8 and 1x6) so maybe one of my connectors is not working properly?
Sometimes things just don't work as planned for no reason :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: October 9th, 2014, 9:39 pm 
Offline
Forum Drunk
User avatar

Joined: January 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm
Posts: 2886
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Title: Proud to be a Kraut!
I guess you don't have an oscilloscope or a decent multimeter with min/max detection at hand? I would suggest monitoring the voltages. Also does the problem persist when you only use one of the GPUs? I really don't think Crossfire/SLI is worth it, anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO


Privacy Policy Statement
Impressum (German)