wc3edit.net

United Warcraft 3 map hacking!
It is currently August 23rd, 2019, 12:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 21st, 2014, 6:39 am 
Offline
Forum Drunk
User avatar

Joined: January 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm
Posts: 2886
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Title: Proud to be a Kraut!
You have this misconception about temperature. In ultrabooks for example CPUs regularly run at 100°C. That's due to the fact that higher temperature differences improve the cooling efficiency, running it hot allows for less fan noise. Also Intel CPUs can't overheat in normal operation, they just throttle down and at some point shut off. For stressing your CPU you can use prime95, though a CPU problem is highly unlikely. It's much more likely to be about any other component.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 21st, 2014, 8:48 am 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
Thank you Dekar, I will check prime95.
Also I dont think the CPU is bad... I think it is the cooler on it. Ever since installing it I think I did something wrong as I never installed a cooler before. Also now that I bought a thermal paste it doesn't look exactly like that one that came with the cooler. The one in the cooler just came in a little baggy and I ended up making a lot of mess, Unlike the bottle+cap I got for almost no price from Noctua

Edit: Well I opened the computer, removed the heatsink, cleaned the CPU and the heatsink using alocohol, cleaned it again with paper, re-applied thermal paste. screwed everything back in. Still crashed same way. So I am out of ideas (until I will be able to get to the store and replace it)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 21st, 2014, 1:23 pm 
Offline
Shopping Maul USA Creator
User avatar

Joined: January 18th, 2007, 11:07 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Calgary Canada
Title: 301 IQ
Took a look at your hitman freeze. I slapped all the info into excel and found your last 50 minutes is where you spike. I've uploaded the excel file here:


https://www.sendspace.com/file/cl167u

In the first graph, the temps are ok, but the GPU usage (in the same graph) is maxed out.

In the second graph, some of the cores are pretty much inactive, but then also are maxed out. This almost tells me that your machine gets unstable with all the cores. You might try using only 6 or 4, and see if you can limit the cpu usage. I beleive you can do that in "poer settings" in windows.

The third graph is the leftover info. The only thing that I see is the memory usage is also high. I don't kbow if this could be a problem

The last graph is the last hour of your log. It's just a zoomed in version of the cpu/gpu usage.

I'm no expert on hardware looking at these logs and all the numbers, but the hopefully the graphs give you a little insight.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 21st, 2014, 8:37 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
WOW! That is a much better way of looking at the specifics and analysing, instead of looking of a foot long html file. Thank you, I will try to use less cores, even tough I thought games use like a core or 2 at max.
Also, I re-applied thermal paste (after cleaning and making a clean alcohol sweep) and it still crashed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 23rd, 2014, 11:07 pm 
Offline
Forum Drunk
User avatar

Joined: January 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm
Posts: 2886
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Title: Proud to be a Kraut!
Your CPU is fine, move on. :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 23rd, 2014, 11:13 pm 
Offline
Shopping Maul USA Creator
User avatar

Joined: January 18th, 2007, 11:07 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Calgary Canada
Title: 301 IQ
Dekar wrote:
Your CPU is fine, move on. :/


You could at least say "please". 8)

What would you think makes the whole computer resources spike as shown in the graph?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 24th, 2014, 11:12 pm 
Offline
Forum Drunk
User avatar

Joined: January 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm
Posts: 2886
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Title: Proud to be a Kraut!
Could be one of those bitcoin-miner-viruses. :D Trying a clean Windows installation wouldn't hurt, but I'd probably just try to replace the graphics card or mainboard. Do you have a spare PSU lying around? That could be worth a try as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 27th, 2014, 2:56 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3792
Location: JEW LAND
I don't have a spare PSU that is capable of running my current PC.
I got my old PSU just sitting here but it is old and 450w, also it is currently at my brother's "storage" so no real access to test it.
I will make a clean windows installation, it sounds like a good plan as I have it installed for some time. Altough I think I should save all the appdata folder and the "documets" folder.
Is there a way to re-direct those?
I changed my "Documets/Music/Games/Videos" and I am installing everything out of the C drive, yet stuff are still being added to C. Stuff like the appdata folder. And I am running on a rather small SSD (120GB)
Also, wont that keep the virus alive? If I just back everything up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 27th, 2014, 4:24 pm 
Offline
Shopping Maul USA Creator
User avatar

Joined: January 18th, 2007, 11:07 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Calgary Canada
Title: 301 IQ
haxorico wrote:
Altough I think I should save all the appdata folder and the "documets" folder.
Is there a way to re-direct those?


Redirect: right click appdata/local on properties. Click the "location" tab.

If you installl big programs, and programs with big TEMP files such as Adobe, then make sure you install them onto a different drive.
If you want to see where your space is held up, use spacesniffer http://download.cnet.com/SpaceSniffer/3000-18512_4-10913555.html
Delete your temp files before copying or moving your data. (saves a lot of time)

Also, I would copy the entire contents of your USER folder before reinstalling windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PC Freeze
PostPosted: September 27th, 2014, 10:07 pm 
Offline
Forum Drunk
User avatar

Joined: January 17th, 2007, 4:22 pm
Posts: 2886
Location: Darmstadt, Germany
Title: Proud to be a Kraut!
I was mostly joking about that miner-virus. It could be many different things, thus getting a clean installation is a good idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO


Privacy Policy Statement
Impressum (German)