wc3edit.net

United Warcraft 3 map hacking!
It is currently June 28th, 2017, 2:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 9th, 2013, 1:39 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3698
Location: JEW LAND
So, it has been a while that I have my GPU. AMD Radeon 6750 HD so I decided to have a look at the catalyst settings or w/e it is called, and I found there is a built in AMD OverDrive settings.
Now, I don't really understand all that much in hardware and what all this stuff say, so I was hoping some one in here can either refer me to a good location where I can ask/learn or suggest settings.
Here is a screen shot of the tool.
Spoiler:
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 9th, 2013, 5:59 pm 
Offline
Tyrannical Drama Queen
User avatar

Joined: November 19th, 2007, 5:05 am
Posts: 4944
Title: Αυτοκράτωρ
You can try using the AutoTune feature, (in the Test Custom Clocks dropdown menu), though I'd recommend putting it a little lower than whatever it eventually sets it as, just to be sure, (i.e. if it stopped at 1000/1400, I'd suggest something like 950/1350).

I'm actually more of an underclocker than an overclocker. Most of the games I play are old and there's no reason to be running at max performance. Trying to extend the life of my card. AMD 5770 with 600/900 as my max clocks at the moment, (normal are 850/1200).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 9th, 2013, 8:35 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3698
Location: JEW LAND
Well I am playing NOT OLD games, and I am getting pretty bad fps.
I am thinking of buying a new high-end GPU, but cause of my current salary that stands at around 250$-350$ a month, I can't really afford it.
So I want to get the maximum FPS from the GPU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 10th, 2013, 3:33 am 
Offline
Forum Staff
User avatar

Joined: March 17th, 2008, 12:07 am
Posts: 1488
The best and usually easiest way to overclock is to use the brand's utility, which IMO is almost always better than the OverDrive.
You didn't mention your brand name, but if it's branded Gigabyte/ASUS/Sapphire/HIS, use their utility, it'll be much nicer than OverDrive.

Moving on, you should probably start with the memory clock, as you don't have to worry about the power running to it as much when upping this.
Try ~50MHz ups at a time (though your first jump should easily be ~100-150MHz no problem), and then run a game for a bit. Make sure everything's stable.
You could also download a benchmark program and just run it. Furmark/Heaven are two of my personal favorites.

Then, you'll start overclocking the 'clock' settings on the GPU, again you should be moving up at ~50MHz steps, but it'll most likely only run near ~800 on your card.

Here's a guide that I think would help you as well (especially because he also references Furmark, which I tend to favor, and he explains the test/scores as well).

Hope this helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 10th, 2013, 3:49 am 
Offline
Old Wrinkly Member
User avatar

Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:09 am
Posts: 287
Title: Legenda
Use this if u want to overclock a GPU...
It works for me so i think it will work for any brand..
http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm
If u want to increase FPS, try razer game booster, Overclock ur cpu mhz, defrag hard disk...
Also dont forgot that if u overclock something, it will heat faster than normal..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 10th, 2013, 5:15 am 
Offline
Tyrannical Drama Queen
User avatar

Joined: November 19th, 2007, 5:05 am
Posts: 4944
Title: Αυτοκράτωρ
Kryptonyte sounds about right about everything he said...(hi, the by the way!)

I wouldn't touch Razer's "Game Booster" or whatever, though. Razer's software has a tendency to be awfully buggy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 10th, 2013, 5:23 am 
Offline
Old Wrinkly Member
User avatar

Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:09 am
Posts: 287
Title: Legenda
but it close some services to make the game smoother i think...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 10th, 2013, 5:30 am 
Offline
Forum Staff
User avatar

Joined: March 17th, 2008, 12:07 am
Posts: 1488
What I said is merely from personal experience. I'd always recommend finding a seemingly legitimate guide and following it to the best of your ability.
Though, it turns out (because I just read it), that the guide said pretty much what I did. So that's good, right? Oh, and hi, Bart.

Also, I'd have to side with Bart. I wouldn't use some 3rd party software to enhance my gaming performance (even Razer, despite using their mice).
Don't want extra services to run? Kill them yourself with task manager. Or disables actual services through the management console.
I seriously doubt any of those have a huge impact on gaming machines anyways, even mediocre machines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 11th, 2013, 12:22 am 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: February 24th, 2009, 1:31 pm
Posts: 3698
Location: JEW LAND
Thanks for the information. I have a sapphire radeon 6750 hd.
Any one has any information regarding the latest GPUs? I am in a pickle between - gtx 680 / gtx titan / radeon 7970.
I don't want the 690 or the 7990 - I don't want a double GPU thingy.
Also how strong does the PSU have to be?

Edit: So I downloaded the sapphire trixxx overlock tool from their website.
I made a test with the default settings:

GPU Clock - 700
Memory Clock - 1000
VDDC - 1100

Had 14 FPS.

Second test:

GPU Clock - 700
Memory Clock - 1150
VDDC - 1100

Had 14 FPS

Third Test:

GPU Clock - 700
Memory Clock - 1200
VDDC - 1100

had 15 FPS but I noticed the GPU got real hot so I stopped, and then the tool started freezing my memory clock at 12. I can't turn it to a 1000. So wtf?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OverClocking a GPU
PostPosted: May 11th, 2013, 1:04 am 
Offline
Forum Staff
User avatar

Joined: March 17th, 2008, 12:07 am
Posts: 1488
The Titan, though it may have the most power, isn't actually the best for gaming.
The GTX 680 will do just fine. I tend to favor Nvidia cards more, but that's mainly just because I've always used them.
I'm currently running the GTX 660 and I don't have any problems with games at all. The GTX 680 would be more than enough.

And it depends really. I wouldn't go less than 650 watts of power, but that's just airing on the side of caution. Most require only 550 watts.
If you use a site like http://www.newegg.com, it will tell you the requirements for power, and then you can check out power supplies as well. (Make sure you're AT LEAST 50 watts over the recommended).

Also for your testing, I'd recommend checking into what settings you're using for gaming/benchmarking. You should most definitely see an increase in FPS during those tests.
Another thing to check into however is your motherboard/CPU. Even if you have a blazing fast graphics card, it could be getting slowed down by either of those pieces of hardware.
Make sure your system isn't bottlenecked by those components.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO


Privacy Policy Statement
Impressum (German)