Issues after trying to modify a map :s

General talk about editing, cheating, and deprotecting maps.

Moderator: Cheaters

Kakerate
Newcomer

Issues after trying to modify a map :s

Post by Kakerate »

I'm new to editing protected maps for warcraft. xD However, this website has alot of useful guides that helped me through my test run. The thing is, when I extracted the warcraft units file of the map, put it on a new map, added some units, and replaced it back in the map, all of the text was gone. The text for all the units and items had just dissapeared. Can someone help me on this? Thanks. Also, if you know where some more starter posts are for changing maps, that'd be helpful ^^
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen

Re: Issues after trying to modify a map :s

Post by Bartimaeus »

Depending upon the editor, the strings, (the text messages), might have been outsourced to another file, (possibly the .wts, or some sort of SILK file). Use MPQEditor to do a search within the files for a partial match of a string to see what file it went to.
Kakerate
Newcomer

Post by Kakerate »

So what do I do to fix this? Where is all text for the map supposed to be at?

*edit* Maybe I should also mention that the text in the .wts is fine, it shows those messages when the map triggers say to do so. It is like descriptions on units and their titles, stuff like that.
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen

Post by Bartimaeus »

I already told you what to do.

Bartimaeus wrote:Use MPQEditor to do a search within the files for a partial match of a string to see what file it went to.
Kakerate
Newcomer

Post by Kakerate »

Sorry, I should've worded myself better. Once I find which file it went to, then what?

When I imported the new units/items data, it asked if I wanted to overwrite the current file of that name and i accepted. However, after I saved and reopened in in MPQ , it seems they have been imported as File000000013, File 0000000014, etc.
Bartimaeus
Tyrannical Drama Queen