wc3edit.net

United Warcraft 3 map hacking!
It is currently July 22nd, 2018, 12:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: July 6th, 2018, 5:43 am 
Offline
Newcomer

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 11:27 am
Posts: 10
so, MPQ rebuilding wasn't enough to get this map to open in world editor
I even moved the script file to the root folder since I read somewhere that the game works when the script file is moved to the
Code:
/scripts
folder, but it doesn't open in WorldEditor ("unit data is missing or invalid")

when deprotected via xdep, I can't even save the map.

At first I was just planning on fixing the bugs with the map, but on second thought, there's a bit more I might want to do.

Now, maybe you're used to deprotecting maps and you can already do it in your sleep, but I'm hoping to learn something, though I don't want to inconvenience anyone too much.


So, if you could give me some pointers (relevant guides, or even "you need to chance the hex FFFF FFFF FFFF to 0000 FFFF 0000 0000", I can figure the rest out for myself), it would be awesome :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: July 6th, 2018, 11:42 am 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: March 23rd, 2016, 8:06 pm
Posts: 1824
Title: Did nothing wrong.
MPQ Rebuilding does not fix map corruption on WE, if you want it openable (and sometimes saveable) do as i will do in guide below.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxA8SDHORZU


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: July 6th, 2018, 3:23 pm 
Offline
Newcomer

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 11:27 am
Posts: 10
Ty! the map is openable and savable now, but sadly no triggers (I understand the should be in JASS, since they UI triggers are deleted when protecting) or units =(

Even moved war3map.j from scripts/ to root folder and tried deleting the .wtg file (which if I recall correctly is the trigger file) in case the world editor was looking at it and thus not loading the .j file.

Anyway, I could go over the JASS script, change it, and re-insert it into the map using the MPQ editor, but I'd like to learn how to do more :)

So, anyone got any guide to point me towards on recovering units/putting the script back where it belongs? ^^

from what I understand, if WC3 can run it, there's a way to get it on the World editor. Only impossibility is turning obscurated code into triggers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: July 6th, 2018, 3:26 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: March 23rd, 2016, 8:06 pm
Posts: 1824
Title: Did nothing wrong.
Script .j has all you need, and unit file is "war3map.w3u", if your map is missing that it was probably converted to a .slk data,
that data can be found on "units" folder inside map header (not all maps have that or even use that protection method).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: July 10th, 2018, 10:22 pm 
Offline
Newcomer

Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 11:27 am
Posts: 10
I'm considering editing some of the units as well, seems like a good opportunity to learn.

The unit, ability, etc. data is in SLK format. I tried using Silk Object 3 DeWidgetizer, but first try didn't get me the units (did add some units that weren't in the game as far as I could tell), and when I tried to tweak some settings in the config I made it worse.

I looked at the files and read somewhere about how the data is encoded, but I was hoping for a tool to make editing easier. I couldn't even find some of the units I was looking for in the strings files...

Anyway I'm hoping to learn the tools of the trade. I would write some guides on my own on what little I have successfully figured out, but I don't want to do it before I know for sure it actually works.

Anyway I'll keep digging and asking for help :) you have any recommended tools to turn the SLKs back into the files world editor can load?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: July 10th, 2018, 11:28 pm 
Offline
Super Moderator
User avatar

Joined: March 23rd, 2016, 8:06 pm
Posts: 1824
Title: Did nothing wrong.
The best way to edit objects, in my opinion, is just extract it and import into a blank map.
Do your edits and when you are done, just export and re-import into original map.
war3map.w3u = units
war3map.w3t = items
war3map.w3a = abilities
U can do that process with MPQ Editor.
1 - Open original map with MPQ Editor
2 - Export the data u want to edit
3 - Import it into a blank W3 Map (U can import it on object tab)
4 - Do your edits and export it (U can export it on object tab)
5 - Go back to original map on MPQ Editor and just replace the files.
Map will be edited, without a deprotection process.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO


Privacy Policy Statement
Impressum (German)